Houses of Parliament

The Houses of Parliament includes both the House of Commons and the House of Lords. Originally the site of the Palace of Westminster the present building was constructed in the years following the fire of 16 October 1834 which destroyed nearly all the Old Palace. Work began in 1840 and was substantially completed by 1860, it was formally opened in 1852. The Big Ben clocktower is 96.3m (316 ft) high.