Places to Go smaller logo Kenilworth Castle Cotswolds logo

Cotswolds links logo
Home Button
Anne Hathaways Cottage
Baddesley Clinton

Bath (feature)
Bibury
Bourton House Garden
Bourton-on-the-Water
Broadway
Burford Town
Charlecote Park
Chastleton House
Cheltenham
Chipping Campden
Cotswold Falconry Centre
Cotswolds Farm Park
Cotswold Motoring Museum
Cotswold Wildlife Park
Coughton Court
Hailes Abbey

Hidcote Manor Gardens
Holy Trinity Stratford
Jephson Gardens Leamington
Kenilworth Castle
Kiftsgate Court
Packwood House

Painswick Garden
Prinknash Park
Ragley Hall
Sezincote
Snowshill Manor

Stow-on-the-Wold
Stratford Butterfly Farm
Stratford-upon-Avon
Sudeley Castle
The Slaughters
Upton House
Warwick
Welford-on-Avon

The thumbnails below are linked to larger pictures

Castle approach The Elizabethan Garden The Keep
Kenilworth Castle is one of the great historical sites of the United Kingdom. The first Castle was established in the 1120s and during its 900 year history it has been owned by numerous Kings, used as a prison and been the setting for the longest full scale siege in British history in 1266 lasting six months.

Elizabeth I gave Kenilworth Castle to her favorite Robert Dudley earl of Leicester in 1563. He converted Kenilworth into a great prodigy house for her entertainment , which culminated in 19 days of festivities in 1575.

The castles fortifications were dismantled in 1650 after the Civil War. The ivy clad ruins became famous as the setting fo Sir Walter Scott's novel Kenilworth. The castle was given by Lord Kenilworth to the Town of Kenilworth in 1958.

Today, visitors can view an exhibition on the story of the special relationship which includes items on loan from museums and private collections. Kenilworth Castle is an English Heritage site and has recently undergone a multi million pound investment project. The gatehouse, originally built for Elizabeth 1, has been renovated and is now dressed and furnished as it might have appeared in the 1930's. The Elizabethan garden has also been painstakingly restored to replicate its original glory from 1575, complete with fountains, aviary and ornate borders.

Visitors can take meander through the ruins at their own pace, take an hour long audio tour and enjoy a picnic in the grounds. There is a visitor centre, tea shop and gift shop.
The Great Hall The Gatehouse Gatehouse Dining Room